people who watch violent tv shows or movies are more likely to become criminals. How far

I totally disagree with the statement that people who watch violent tv shows or movies are more likely to become criminals. Blaming TV or movies for someone’s criminal activity is wrong. There is no study that found a causative link between watching violent tv shows and crime. Even if criminals do watch more violent shows and movies than the average person does, it does not mean that watching such content leads to committing crimes. It may very well be the case that people who are inclined to commit crimes are attracted to violence on the screen, and not the other way around. I am far from being a criminal, but I still like some shows and movies that might be considered violent. Most people know the difference between what goes on on their screen and real life. In fact, watching violence on TV can be an outlet to violent instincts. In other words, it might be that people like to watch violence on the screen instead of acting it out in real life. Crime usually abounds where there are no other alternatives to it. No TV show can cause someone to commit a serious crime, but growing up with bad people in poor neighborhoods can definitely do so. Most career criminals grew up without one (or both) of their parents. Without guidance, children and teens may go astray and be caught in the net of criminals. I do not mean that parents should let their children do whatever they want or watch whatever they want on TV, but having the right guidance is key in keeping young people off the streets and away from crime. People may commit crimes for various reasons, but it is not TV or the movies that make people do that.