According to some, good health goes hand in hand with regular exercise, yet others feel that it is more important to maintain a balanced diet. In my opinion, I believe that exercise is more essential for the majority of people.

According to some, good health goes hand in hand with regular exercise, yet others feel that it is more important to maintain a balanced diet. In my opinion, I believe that exercise is more essential for the majority of people. There are several benefits to a balanced diet for good mental and physical health. For one thing, eating well lifts moods. Simple foods that are varied in color and type can lift mood and lower the risk of depression. Eating more fruits, colorful vegetables, proteins, and whole grains helps the body run efficiently. This makes dieters feel good, and as a result more willing to be active which thus makes them healthier. For another thing, eating well makes people less prone to getting sick by building a body less susceptible to disease. Vitamins and minerals in diet boost immunity, which protects the body against certain diseases like obesity, diabetes and high blood pressure. On the other hand, I believe that exercise is more effective at improving health since it encourages long-term health habits from the beginning. Exercising not only burns calories, but makes people feel good. While starting a diet is never a pleasant experience, cardiovascular exercises like cycling, walking or swimming trigger endorphins in the brain that immediately decrease stress levels, and enhance our sense of well-being. Once people start feeling good from exercise, they are more likely to continue. Moreover, exercise doesn’t have to be for long periods to achieve instant benefits. Doctors usually advise exercising for 20 minutes three times per week, a sufficiently short enough time to make a habit of, and fit into busy schedules. In conclusion, while good diet is necessary, exercise offers greater convenience, flexibility, and by making people feel good, encourages good health habits in the long run.