People who cause their own illnesses through unhealthy lifestyles and poor diets should have to pay more for health care. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Studies show that there are certain people who tend to get ill more frequently by adopting inadequate living habits. Does that mean such individuals should pay more for health care facilities? I believe that this has become a common issue and thus, making health care expensive is not the right way to go about it. In recent times, the number of people with an unhealthy lifestyle has been increasing at an alarming rate. This is due to the growth in the fast food industry and the advancement in technology. The higher consumption of fast foods and other chemical induced products has resulted in chronic diseases amongst people. Although there are many benefits of technology but it has introduced ways to be less active. However, if the government starts charging people who get ill by indulging in an inactive lifestyle or consuming nutrition-deprived foods, it is not guaranteed that people will change their choices. Also, in many developing countries, many people would not be able to afford it, which would be harmful to the economy in the long run. Having said that, if people are to pay more for their unhealthy lifestyle and poor diet they might be forced to change their way of living. However, this is very subjective because as mentioned earlier, results are not guaranteed to be impactful. In conclusion, if the government and health care workers raise awareness in people regarding the benefits of a healthy lifestyle, and the dangers of their current lifestyle, it would be beneficial for society as well as the economy.