People today are not as fit as they were in the past. What are the causes of this? What can governments do to deal with this issue?

It is a well-known fact that modern society is less healthy than its ancestors were. This is becoming a serious complication, resulting in decreasing quality of life in many nations. Although that issue troubles many countries, its effects can be successfully combated. This essay researches the causes of deteriorating well-being, and proposes some solutions to the problem. One of the main reasons of people being less fit than in the past times is low physical mobility and lack of exercise, which are caused by the addiction to various gadgets and sedentary life style. Scientists have proven the fact that the deficit of anatomical activity is a root cause of some health issues, such as wrong posture, muscle and core weakness, insomnia and depression. Furthermore, passive way of life provokes hormonal imbalance, which has negative side effects on mental and physical health of a human being. There are plenty of examples when gamers forget to eat and suffer from malnutrition, as well as some people eating too much in front of a television out of boredom, leading to obesity on the other hand. Needless to say, that the governments need to action on the matter of declining fitness level of the population. Therefore, the most practical solution is a state sponsored awareness campaign. A powerful advertising program could warn of the side effects of being inactive in day-to-day life, and raise awareness amongst public. For example, when various world championships are massively advertised in the media, they bring sensible amount of children and their parents to the playgrounds and parks of the countries where they take place. Another impressive example is celebrities, who post workout videos on social media, motivating and challenging millions of followers to embark on a fitness adventure. In conclusion, educating people about damaging consequences and promoting fitness on mass media can successfully battle population weakening due to the shortage of movement.