Some people believe that studying at university is the key to a successful life, while others think that nothing practical is gained by doing this.

In today’s society, the decision as to enter universities or not is usually a topic of debate for any high school graduate. Many think that pursuing tertiary education is the most vital factor in achieving prominence in life, while others believe that it is a waste of time to spend years on getting a bachelor’s degree as the information taught in universities is mostly theoretical. Personally, I am a fervent proponent of the former idea and in this essay, I would argue that the knowledge gained in universities could, nevertheless, be applicable to real life situations. On the one hand, most universities and colleges around the world are encompassing major courses in their curricular to provide students with the necessary information about their fields of study, from basic to advanced levels. In the first year, freshmen could be enrolled in introductory classes where the fundamental concepts and theories of their desired academic discipline are delivered, while in later years, the knowledge usually becomes more specific and detailed, furnishing students with not only a deeper understanding of the subject but also the chance to select which branch of the major they should further pursue. The undergraduates, therefore, are equipped with all the prerequisites to advance to a higher level of education or enter the job market, being ready to earn a living and secure a better life. Numerous people, on the other hand, tend to have a negative perspective when it comes to knowledge acquired from universities, which, in their opinion, is impractical. Their arguments usually revolve around the fact that some institutions focus on academic theories rather than on actual skills, specifically for communicative capabilities. This point of view is true to some extent as these types of jobs require more practice and hands-on experience, which can be easier to obtain through working, to perfect the techniques. However, this mindset is already outdated as there are many universities, colleges, and other educational bodies that hold training sessions for their students to put all of the information they have assimilated into use. With the guidance from the seminar or tutorial leaders and a solid base of practice, the students would find it much easier to execute the given tasks, which is consequently beneficial for them in the long term. In conclusion, I affirm my support towards the idea of following higher education by virtue of its ability to supply future job seekers with profound knowledge and practical sets of skills to ensure a successful life. Students should thus take the opportunity to advance their knowledge when studying in universities.