people suggest that Vietnamese government should tax private car owners heavily to use the money to improve public transportation. what is the advantages and disadvantages of this solution?

Traffic problems in Vietnam doubtlessly create a chronic headache for the government to deal with. There are numerous people suggesting that the government should levy heavier taxes on private car owners to accrue more money for the improvement of public transportation. While the benefits that this solution bring about are unquestionable, its minus points are of the debate. This essay will shed light on both boons anf banes of this feasible method. On the one hand, taxing heavily on commuters using private cars might bring about significant merits. Perhaps the biggest advantage of this solution is to mitigate the traffic jams in municipal areas. It is due to the fact that once the tax applying for cars increases, the owners of this convenient vehicle will take into acount the frequency of using it. Gradually, the number of automobiles on roads is thus fell down resulting in the less seriousness in traffic conjestion. Another favourable aspect of this remedy worth-mentioning is that the higher taxes on cars means the bigger amount of national budget. As city dwellers in Vietnam are inclined to purchase for themselves cars to show off their prosperity leading to the increasing number of this mean of transportation, if the government levies higher taxes on car owners, it is apparently possible to accrue a considerable amount of money using for upgrading transport infrastructure or tackling environmental issues. However, regardless of the above advantages, this solution could involve some shortcomings that require further discussion. One of the major drawbacks of taxing heavily on car owners is presumably to raise the higher resentment in some parts of citizens. As the majority of private car owners are of high position in society, this remedy surely hinders their demand in life satisfaction leading to the anger in some people. Furthermore, it comes to the fact that when the tax for car using increases, the auto industry is somehow influenced due to the less consumers. This consequence indeed creates a notable pressure on the national economy. In conclusion, taxing private car heavily is a black-and-white matter which has both upsides and downsides. While its favourable aspects are self-evident, the negative ones should be taken as an important consideration.