People spend too much time doing things they enjoy rather than things they should do

In modern life, people have to make great efforts to achieve spending some time in personal enjoyment. Work and studying are every thay more competitive, leaving less and less time for people to make the activities they like. In the first place, students who pretend to have a successful life after University, are supposed to graduate with the best scores so that they will be hired by the best companies. And as this professional opportunities are not unlimited, a lot of competition is created between the students. So living in this very competitive environment, this young people have very few time left to spend on personal enjoyment. My own experience is a good example of what I mean. When I was a student, I was very enthusiastic about working in diplomacy, but I had to make very hard tests if I wanted to enter into this career. And because of this pressure, despite I have always enjoyed to practice sports, during my student years I did not practice any sports. As I spent all of my available time for studying. Secondly, professional life as an adult will push most of the people tu do things they should do instead of things they enjoy. Adult life responsibilities are responsible for this decrease in quality time. A very close friend of mine, Tom, runs an important company with offshore operations and thousands of employees. He is a very successful businessman and has a great economic situation. Nevertheless, he spends most of the time working or in business trips. And he has no time left to spend with his family and enjoy good moments. On the other hand, my friend George, has a regular work at food manufacturing company and is not a wealthy person. But George spends many hours a day with his sons. He help them with their school assignment and make many trips together with them. Due to this quality time that George spends every day with his sons, he achieve to be a happier than Tom. In conclusion, people’s objective in life is to be happy. And for achieving this aim they should spend as much time as possible on personal enjoyment. And since the objective is to be happy, I disagree with the idea that people should spend more time doing things they should do.