People spend the majority of their week at work. What contributes to a person feeling satisfied at work? Is it realistic for all people to feel satisfied?

Adults spend the majority of their working hours at work, so it is essential that they derive satisfaction from their jobs. However, while good working relationships and job conditions are both important factors in achieving fulfilment in the workplace, I sadly do not believe it is attainable for all employees. One factor affecting job satisfaction is the people you work with. Having friendly and supportive colleagues can increase morale in any office. Even people who have monotonous jobs, such as those working in factories, can still love their work because of their relationships with co-workers. A positive line of communication with bosses can also greatly affect employee’s wellbeing. When staff members feel that they are listened to and valued, they are much more likely to feel positive about their employment and, in turn, by more productive. Good working conditions are another important element. First, working hours should be reasonable and allow employees to have a good work life balance. If people are not rewarded for working overtime or have to work night shifts, they will soon become demotivated and dissatisfied. Moreover, the amount of money that people receive for their work can have a massive impact on their perception of satisfaction. This is particularly true for jobs in which the work itself is physically demanding like in mining or construction, where being paid a high salary counter-balances the difficult nature of the work. However, even though many employees will be able to find job satisfaction, the number of variable factors involved makes it unlikely for all workers. Unfortunately, there are still many jobs that require working long hours for relatively little pay. Taxi drivers, for example, often work long shifts for a low salary. Similarly, people in well-paid jobs with good working hours may find themselves in conflict with their colleagues and, hence, dissatisfied. In conclusion, there are many factors that combine to make a person feel happy at work, including having friendly co-workers, a competitive salary, and a good work-life balance. However, because job satisfaction involves so many factors, I do not believe that all workers can realistically achieve it.