When people move to another country, some of them decide to follow the customs of the new country. Other prefer to keep their own customs. Compare thes two choises. Which one do you prefer?

Moving in another country is never easy, even if you are brave and adapt easly: it can be a wounderful experience that enriches you, but it has to be lived in the right way. Sensations as isolation and hostility against the country can be experimented, bringing an unconscious reject of the new life and ruin this amazing experience. Keep your own customs might be useful if you miss your country, but it may bring you to a feeling of not-belonging in what is your new home and make the integration progress tricky. From my perspective, follow them is the best choice (provided that they are not radically different from yours), given that they are the country’s culture, learn them also means learn its culture. By comparing two country’s customs and mannersit is possible to find out some bad habits you have and replace them with new good ones. You do not need a sweeping change of your habits(also because only moving in another country is), you just need to assesse which ones fits and enriches you and which not. Moreover, if you are brave and do not suffer of melancholy indoubtedly nestling in a new culture will make yoor integration easier. On the contrary, as already mentioned, the situation is a little bit different if customs and manners are radically dissimilar: in this case, it might be a good idea a smooth and gradual change. In summary, I prefer follow the new customs but keep some of mine.