people spend more time on technology than library

Today, computer technology is becoming more and more advanced. Many people think that it is wasteful to spend money on maintaining public libraries because most of their functions can be replaced with computer technology. However, I firmly believe that library should never be disregarded by our society. On one hand, the development of computer science has brought about lots of benefits to our lives. Anyone could obtain and store a great amount of information online easily instead of going to public libraries to search for them. People can also read books on the move with their mobile devices such as iPhones, iPads, and so on. Furthermore, people do not have to remember the deadline to return the books. On the other hand, public libraries still have several advantages over the Internet. First, a library always plays an important role as a reliable learning resource. Indi- viduals could get access to sufficient data for their studies when they use public li- braries. Second, individuals have more chances to make new friends and exchange learning experience when studying in a library. This opportunity can rarely be found on studying in front of a computer. Compared with only studying via the Internet, students could study in a more quiet and professional environment for academic purposes such as doing researches or graduate thesis. In conclusion, I believe that both public libraries and computer technology are necessary for people to expand their knowledge. Therefore, public libraries will not disappear or be replaced by computer science in the near future because of their unique features and benefits