People sleep fewer hours these days when compared to the past. This is because we tend to work longer hours compared to the past, which greatly affects our health.

People tend to sleep less because of the work conditions. In order to secure their job in this competitive world, they need to work more which sacrifices their sleep. If they don't work extra hours, they may lose their job. This means, that they have to wake up early in the morning and work until late in the evening. Even after coming home, people have to work if the job demands. For instance, there are few jobs where people work in the ghost hours too comprising their bedtime routine. A recent study found that insomnia has increased by 5% all around the world than in the past which shows how people are neglecting their sleep. The primary effect of sleeplessness is deteriorating their health which results in fatigue. Because of this, one cannot focus on their work and cannot be lively which affects mental health too. Most of the time, we feel tired and not active resulting in depression. Generally, one cannot actively participate in many activities with sleep deprivation. Recent research concluded that athletes who slept for more than 8 hours won many medals in the Olympics rather than those who slept for less than 6-8 hours. In conclusion, those who sleep more will be more productive at work and those who don't suffer from health conditions. People sacrifice sleep because of work pressure.