People should check news that even cannot affect their daily life

It is critically important that we stay aware of the things happening around us, the ones directly affecting our lives. In my opinion, people should focus on the events that matter, instead of checking the news that won't affect our lives. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. First, I frequently hear from my friends and relatives that they always complain how they are busy and cannot find time to spend with their families, since everyone works more nowadays than they used to work in the past. Working hard and not finding leisure time to spend with friends affect people's mental health because everyone needs to forget what is happening around them and relax, which can help them succeed in their daily works and relationships. My personal experience is an excellent example. Regardless the news would change or affect my life, I try to check each of them. It stresses me out, and I can't focus on my work. Two years ago, I was assigned to complete a project, but in the middle of the project, I noticed that instead of searching about my work on the internet, I try to check the news that doesn't matter. My boss saw this and fired me and put me in a bad situation. Conversely, my brother never checks the news that is less likely to affect his life. He mainly focuses on his work and says that our time is both limited and valuable, which resulted in a promotion in his job position. Had I focused on my work instead of checking events worldwide, I would have become my boss now. Second, finding a new career today is much more challenging than in the past and needs a very specialized and expert person, which means we should learn a wide variety of topics. Instead of checking events that its effect is negligible in our daily life, we can learn new things to improve our position in our job. Indeed, learning new subjects needs to focus entirely and lots of time, effort, and dedication. Consider the experience mentioned above as an example. My brother spent his time in front of the computer to take extra online courses related to his job, which helped him get outstanding promotions. If I had spent the time and effort that I put on checking non-useful events, I would have found my dream career working in NASA. In conclusion, I strongly believe that people should value their own time and spend it on useful things instead of checking events that are happening in the world. This is because checking news wastes most of our time and because we can spend time learning new things to improve our position in work or find our dream job.