people prefer to use their own transport these days. Why is this so? What can be done to encourage people to use public transport?

People commute from one location to another for their work and education. Most of the travellers prefer their private vehicle for commutation, while only few opt for the city transport. For many environmentalists, this is a matter of grave concern, as more usage of private vehicles may aggravate the air pollution. This essay will discuss in detail the reasons behind the extensive use of private automobiles and the ways to promote mass transportation. The main reason for using own automobiles is the convenience it offers. There is no time restriction while using it and a traveller may take any number of breaks as per his wish. As the city buses does not operate in the interior roads, people staying in those areas use their own vehicle. Apart from that, during the peak time and festive seasons, the unavailability of tickets on the trains and buses, makes people to use their cars. For example, during the festive season, the train tickets get fully booked within minutes of the booking window. One of the main solution to this issue is that the government should take necessary steps to improve the public transportation. For instance, the government should introduce bullet trains which has traveller capacity equivalent to that of hundreds of cars. Further, during peak time more buses and trains should be planned to cater to the high demand. One more option is to improve the road connectivity and offer bus service to remote locations as well. These actions will enable the individuals to use the trains and buses. To conclude, public vehicles should be used, as it will help in keeping our environment clean and free of carbon emissions. Hence, the government should take appropriate measures to improve the public transportation.