People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? and what are the effects on individuals and people around them?

In the past, people used to get more sleep than they do now. This essay will look at the causes of this and then assess the consequences for people who are not getting enough sleep as well as those around them. One of the main causes of a lack of sleep is modern technology. Before smartphones, tablets, and other similar devices, people would usually watch TV or read a book before going to bed. However, now a person might spend hours in bed staring at a bright screen, which makes it difficult to fall asleep. Another major factor is that many people have to wake up early to go to work or school. For example, young people might stay up late using their phones, but then they have to wake up at 6am to go to school. Of course, this means that they will be tired and struggle to study effectively. The effects of a lack of sleep can be extremely harmful. For individuals, it might cause them to feel low in energy and make it difficult to concentrate at work or school. Furthermore, a lack of sleep can also effect people around us. Friends and family might lose their temper faster if they are tired and say or do something without thinking because their mind is exhausted. Moreover, tiredness can lead to someone accidentally killing another person. The thousands of road accidents every year caused by sleepy drivers is a good example of this. Overall, a lack of sleep is mainly caused by new forms of technology and the pressure of modern life. The effects can range from small to huge, so it is very important that people get enough sleep.