Shopping is the favourite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping?

Young people’s approach toward hobbies is changing dramatically and it is influenced by technology and the modern world. At present, shopping as a favourite pastime activity is becoming extremely popular, especially among youngsters. Admittedly, shopping outlet’s services, lucrative offers, rapid changes in technology, and digital advertisements are playing key roles in making this trend popular. However, unnecessary shopping is a waste of time and money which could be better utilised by youths. The modern world we live in has too many new technologies, gadgets, and fashion items and they change so frequently that it is almost impossible to remain fashionable, trendy and updated without shopping regularly. Many people, especially youngsters, go shopping very frequently because they feel those items are necessary for them. Since brands release new items quite often, the young generation goes shopping frequently. Digital advertisements by big and small brands also reach millions of youngsters and constantly lure them to get fashionable items to look good or feel good and sometimes their offer and discounts are too good to be missed! For instance, renowned brands like Nike or some small brands often give up to 50% discount which drags many youngsters to their outlets. Youths can use their leisure time in more productive activities and hobbies like going out and doing exercise, socialising with others, getting involved in charity works and taking part in different outdoor sports. This will keep them mentally and physically fit and make a far more healthy young generation without chronic diseases and obesity. Besides, they can invest time in reading, which will broaden their imagination, teach them different information and make them ready for their future career. For instance, it is evident that students who like to read a lot do much better in exams and end up having a better career than those who hardly read outside their academic books. To conclude, I believe that shopping is important when it is restricted to buying necessary items. But if it becomes obsessions by young people, it is a problem. They should better spend the money and time doing things that would benefit them in the long run. [Written by Ahmed]