A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What's worth? Our society is developing a very materialistic approach to measure how a person is admired or not. I agree that personal characteristics and values have been forgotten on that count and replaced by wealth and social status. The first impression is what counts – they say. That phrase might be the perfect example of how limited and materialistic we transformed our relations. If we believe we can get to know somebody only by their appearance and possessions, we might be leading to a more futile society than we can even predict. The second or third question when we meet someone for the first time is what we do for a living. Therefore, we associate social status and appearance with the character of a person instead of getting to know their emotional intelligence or how empathetic they are. As a society guided by a false necessity of consumerism, many relationships are misguided by those erroneous judgements. The attractivity of wealthiness can lead individuals to approximate themselves of people who lack of character but have a full bank account. Because society see money’s worth as a synonym of personal value, some people may get involved with somebody who is not able to respond feelings, tell the truth or be kind. As a consequence, all the admiration or inspiration generated by the materialistic reading in the beginning starts to fall over and the reality of a person’s values, or the lack of them, shows up. Overall, the capitalist society forgot that, as human beings, we have feelings, emotions and history. More than that, we have actions which we respond for. As a consequence, we replaced original values by limited and futile predictions of character leaded by financial and social standards.