Due to modern technology, it is now possible to eliminate genetic diseases and even select for specific traits by modifying the DNA of embryos. It has been argued that this kind of technology is unethical and should not be used. However, another view is that this is actually a step forward in human progress. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Thanks to recent breakthroughs in technology, scientists are now able to create ‘designer babies’ that are free from many genetic diseases along with having specific desirable attributes. Some people feel that creating these kinds of babies is unethical, while others feel that this is a positive development. In this essay, I will examine both views and give my own opinion. There are a number of ethical concerns associated with the creation of designer babies. Firstly, this practice is likely to increase inequality. In the future, it is possible that rich people will be the only ones able to afford the cost of genetically modifying their offspring, while the poor would be unable to access this technology. This could result in a subclass of people who are less talented, less attractive and poor. Secondly, using this technology carries unforeseen issues for children. It is possible that there may be higher expectations on children who have had this advantage, and if the children do not meet them, they may feel like failures. However, in general, I feel that this technology is a win for humanity. In a world with designer babies, horrible illnesses can be eliminated entirely. It is worth the ethical cost to be able to have children who will not suffer from conditions such as epilepsy, bipolar disorder or motor neuron disease. Furthermore, if children are given genes that improve their intelligence, physical attributes and talents, future generations will be able to enjoy the benefits of what only the lucky few have today. In other words, children will never have to feel dumb, ugly or unable to make a contribution to society. In conclusion, although there is a possibility that genetic engineering of children has the potential for certain unwanted results, this technology makes a brighter future possible for everyone. Therefore, on balance, I believe that using these scientific advances are ethical and good for humanity.