People nowadays prefer to interact online e g do shopping chat with friends rather than talking to other people face to face What are the reasons for this. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is no denying that technological advancements are rapidly taking over the world. It has been observed these days that many people choose to connect with friends over the internet rather than in person. Social media and online games are believed to be the two main causes that keep them glued to their screen. In my opinion, it is clearly a very negative development as it can have a lot of adverse effects like laziness and depression. Owing to the increase in popularity of social media nowadays, and the advent of multiple online networking platforms, youngsters are not left with much time given the addictive nature of these sites. They spend hours and hours on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram, engaging in different activities with one another, unlike a few years ago where people actually used to hang out a lot more with their friends and family. For instance, Facebook introduced an option where multiple people can watch the same movie at the same time from their own homes and chat over it as well. Another reason is fondness of online games, especially in youngsters, where multiple users can play together or against each other online and consequently, stay connected there. For example, I along with many of my friends spend a lot of time playing FIFA with each other for most part of their day and we all hardly hang out together. Staying indoors most of the time over the internet can have harmful effects on people’s life. Firstly, it can make you extremely lazy, considering you are sitting at your home most the times and not moving much; secondly, one can easily start to feel isolated and disconnected from the real world if they do not converse with people outside of the online mediums, thus getting depressed. For instance, a person sitting constantly in front of their computer screens for a number of hours will not have any energy left to do some work. Along with that, they will feel very lonely in tough situations. In conclusion, social media and online games are a few notable factors why a number of people choose to talk to friends online instead of face to face. People should only spend a certain amount of time over the internet and rather interact with friends in real life a lot more in order to stay away from the negative impacts.