Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employee?

Entrepreneurship is becoming increasingly popular these days among people. It has been observed lately that individuals entering the job market or even those who are currently employed, are preferring to start their own business rather than doing a full-time job. There are many reasons for opting this approach, but on the other hand, one should consider the cons of being self-employed beforehand. There are multiple reasons that lead a lot of people to be an entrepreneur these days, firstly, they do not like working for a company or under someone else’s supervision as there are a lot of rules and regulations in place to follow, which can be pressurizing and suffocating for some. For instance, most companies have a fixed 9 to 6 schedule along with a proper dresscode that needs to be followed. Another reason could be the growing number of online businesses allowing people to work from the comfort of their homes as well as, be their own boss. Many employed people are starting their own businesses on platforms like Amazon and Alibaba and making money far more easily and sometimes more than their jobs even. Freelancing has also played a huge role in strengthening this mindset. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of being self-employed as well like, being isolated to a degree which may lead to frustration and depression as you are mostly working from home in a confined place compared to that of being in a company. The possibility of having social interactions with your colleagues that you can have in an organization is significantly reduced when being self employeed. Secondly, being self-employed takes away the opportunity of learning from your seniors to a very large extent. In other words, when an individual is working in a company, they can see how their seniors are perfoming and attain skills and knowledge one should have in order to get to their level. In conclusion, although being self-employed is definitely being chosen by a lot of people nowadays but one should always weigh the related adverse impacts that it may have.