People nowadays prefer to communicate via internet and social media. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has revolutionized different aspects of our lives. Many people opt to connect through social platforms rather than direct communication, and this trend has immense demerits and merits which will be further explained below. I hold the belief that this notion has a grave effect on the population. On the on hand, there are myriad of positive issues for this development. Firstly, communication among people has become obvious. To illustrate, families can be disclose with their relatives who are abroad via social media applications at any time they want or any event. For instance, What`s app and Facebook which have made people`s interactions accessible. Another issue is that this idea has saved time and efforts; therefore individuals can be connected rapidly through these applications instead of being at the same place. Moreover, they can set their meetings online in place of gathering especially, during the pandemic outbreak. This shows that, the significant breakthrough in technology. On the other hand, when people depend on online connection instead of being together at the same place, social fabric will be damaged due to lack of direct interaction among them. An eminent example is a recent research which explained that in the last decade, many people use only social websites for communications with others. Not only is social distance a grave consequence of indirect communication, but also generation gab will be exaggerated, because the direct contact permits an appropriate opportunity to enhance the relations among youngsters, their parents and elders, and this chance will help to manage the conflicts which they suffer. What can be reiterated is that people should reinforce their real connection rather than being together on social applications. In conclusion, technology has many drawbacks which affect our communities. People should pay their attentions for the upheaval which will effect on them relations and societies. I think that the negative impacts of this development are outweighing the positive results.