Some individuals say that young people should work while in school, while others frown at this.

Certain persons believe that teens should take up jobs while they school as it affords some of them the privilege to gain experience. Others are of the opinion that this will put a lot of strain on them. My view is that teens should work alongside with their studies. On one hand, it affords them the privilege to gain experience. When young people work alongside schooling, it enables them to acquire skills that will be useful when they finish school eventually. Such skills like fashion designing, shoe making, computer training and etc learned will be fully utilised in the future when white collar jobs are not forth coming. For instance, a recent article in New York magazine on teenagers and work reports that 70% of young people who worked while in higher institution performed better in their various jobs when they finished school as compared to those that schooled alone. On the other hand, allowing teens work while they are schooling will put some of them under a lot of strain. Students have different capacities. Some have high stress threshold while others have low stress threshold. Therefore, combining work and study for these teens put them under undue pressure which might subsequently lead to mental or physical breakdown thereby affecting their academics. To illustrate, l read a recent article published by the American Psychiatry Association which reveals that depression is prevalent among teenagers who work and study at the same time as a result of accumulated stress. In my opinion, teens should be encouraged to take up work while they study in order to gain experience. Also, it reduces the financial burden on their parents and allows them learn how to manage both human n material resources.