People live longer today and so people should stay in the workforce longer

There is a vast development in the current medical field due to which there is a considerable increase in average life expectancy in humans. There is an ongoing debate that people live longer life and there is a need to raise the retention period in workforce. I completely disagree with this notion and I believe that raising the retirement age will not benefit the organisation and society. To begin with, retaining old employees will not benefit the company in longer term. Firstly, older people are not easily adaptive to new change. In today' s trend it is imperative to update the skills in order to align with rapid changes in technological advancement. So organisation will find difficult to implement the new process among older people. As a consequence company may incur some loss due to shortage in skill set. Secondly, there would be a decrease in productivity because elderly people will have some health issues and they may require some frequent leaves. Finally, company has to pay more salary to senior staff. This will be a huge burden to mid size company that yields very less profits. Furthermore, extending retention period in organisation will create an unemployment issues among younger generation. There is a steady increase in younger population when compared to last two decades. If elderly people are retained for longer period then there will be very less job vacancy. Due to lack of job many youngsters may indulge in theft and other unethical means of earning money. This will lead to increase in crime rate and pose great threat to society. For example, in recent study conducted by United Nations concluded that the unemployment rate in India is around 60% in the age group of 20 to 40 years old. Hence Government is planning to cut down retirement age at least by five years to increase the employment opportunities for young people to benefit. In conclusion, I strongly opine that people should not be retained for longer period in workplace. An equal opportunities should be created for the benefit of young people and organisations.