People in the community can buy cheaper products nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, besides having multiple functions and benefits, there are some people argue that social media have significant negative impacts on both individual and the community the whole. I do agree with this argument because of many obvious reasons. On the one hand, social media such as Facebook or Instagram has played a vital role in communications since it was invented. It is clear that by using Facebook, people can easily keep in touch with their beloved one from long distance, not only hearing their voice but also seeing their face conveniently. Moreover, since Facebook users could use the live streaming ability to connect people in different regions, some companies have taken it as a vital measure to operate online conferences between employees who are not able to present at the office. Another benefit that makes social media extremely popular is its ability to update news continuously. Without spending too much expenditure of subscribing news or magazines, Social network users could be able to get notification about what they are interested in 24 hours a day and 7 days a week by using their mobile phone. For example, instead of buying expensive tickets to see world cup matches, the fans just need to simply stay home and get the update about the games or even watch it on-live on Facebook. On the other hand, being deeply dependent on social networking sites has many negative impacts not only on a person but also on society. Firstly, when wasting too much time on checking the updated news, the majority of youngsters have failed behind their study. There are many socialists has proved that, since the invention of Facebook, the performance of students at schools dropped dramatically. Secondly, because of the mass information in social media provided by many sources, there is an obvious high risk that vulnerable children could be affected negatively. For example, violent clips could be spread rapidly without any control and directly be seen by young children, which they might learn and copy the clip's contents. As a result, there will be no doubt about the raising of the crime rate within the society presently. In conclusion, besides many benefits the social networks could offer, there are many serious concerns about their negative impacts on the development of an individual as well as society.