PEOPLE IN MANY COUNTRIES ARE SPENDING LESS TIME WITH THERE FAMILY. WHAT ARE THE REASONS, EFFECTS OF THIS?

It is true that quality family time is on the decline for many households the world over. This tendency is attributable to a host of reasons, and in this essay, I’m going to prove that it is going on to have dire consequences on both family and society. There are two underlying reasons as to why people are not spending as much time with their family as they used to in the past. First and foremost, hectic work schedules are depriving people of time spent for family. In modern society, most people are occupied with their job and struggle for time to properly bond with their spouse or children. And another driving factor that results in insufficient time for family is technology overuse. Given the proliferation of digital devices like the smartphones or tablets, significantly more people, especially younger generations, are becoming overly addicted to these technologies and isolated from their family as a result. Most teenagers, for example, would rather spend their time texting their friends via social media than engage in conversation with their parents. I would contend that the growing trend towards reduced family time is going to have repercussions not only on the family but also on society. Regarding the former, the absence of family time is furthering the distance between family members. This may fuel misunderstandings in family and potential conflicts, even divorces in worst-case scenarios. With respect to the latter, the deterioration of family relation could contribute to numerous social problems. For example, when parents spend more time working and less time with their children, they inadvertently leave their children more vulnerable to toxic influences from bad friends or media consumption, which is a precursor to increase violence and crime. In conclusion, packed work schedule and heavy use of technological gadgets are to blame for the increasingly less family together time, and I am convinced that this phenomenon has a number of negative implications for family and society.