People hold divergent opinions about where to live. Some citizens prefer to live in cities with high-rise buildings while others believe cities with more flat buildings are better for residents

Much space can be saved if people live in skyscrapers. As is commonly known, there is a rising demand for housing in many countries, especially in countries with large population like China and India. The land is so limited that people must make the best of it. In this case, constructing more tall buildings is a perfect way to achieve efficient land use. Apart from this, it also adds to the appearance of a city, creating an impressive skyline. Cities like New York and Shanghai are famous for their lively skyline. On the other hand, it is also understandable why some people prefer to live in cities with few high-rise buildings. Skyscrapers look modern but impersonal and some people feel disconnected from nature when living in buildings made from glass and steel. By contrast, quite a number of low-rise buildings are old buildings of cultural significance and people living in them feel more connected to the past. The Siheyuan (quadrangle courtyard) in Beijing is a typical example of this kind of building. In my viewpoint, both kinds of buildings are needed to cater for the changing demand of modern life. In terms of recreational areas and commercial districts, where overcrowding has become a problem, there should be more skyscrapers while regarding the residential areas, I believe living in low-rise buildings is better. The function and comfort level should be taken into consideration when city planners design the city.