Museums and art galleries are past their use-by date. In modern society, culture and art are best accessed online by computers.

Internet is a part of information revolution which does not only allow people to connect to each other, but also empower people to access to an enormous mass of data. By using internet, a person no longer needs to visit a museum or art gallery but still able to enjoy or study of culture and art which raises a question that whether the existence of museum and art galleries are no longer needed. In my view, museum and art are irreplaceable and they shall continuously keep a crucial role in society for a long time. Firstly, it is obvious that enjoying art and culture in museum or gallery brings multidimensional multi-sensory experience to the guests. This means that a guest could obtain more memorable experience in art gallery than simply looking at a picture online. Attending at exhibition room, the visitors are able to observe details and textures of the artefacts then discuss to each other about what they are concerned, which brings an interactive and communicative environment to the visitors, the environment internet does not offer. Moreover, the organisation and arrangement of artifacts in museums or art galleries are systematic and effective which helps visitors take less effort to study. For example, surfing and gathering random information about an artist on internet must be a hard work and also take time to classify or summarise information. In contrast, a gallery owner would classify artworks into categories such as year, theme, artist and each artwork is also attached with additional information so it can be studied in a systematic way. That is not to say that studying culture and art on internet is not beneficial. Indeed, internet is an economical and convenient way to study any particular field. Although internet does not always bring to learner a reliable, systematic information, it is a helpful tool for seeking knowledge which can be combined with studying in museums and art galleries for more effective study. In sum, visiting museums or art galleries not only offers visitors an ideal environment to obtain knowledge but also gives them the chance to interact with each other. Meanwhile, seeking information on internet is still a convenient way which is partialy supportive for studying in the desirable field. By doing so, studiers would find their own suitable ways to study art and culture.