people commit crimes under the influence of alcohol. Some people are of the opinion that the ban of alcohol is the most effective method to bring down the crime rate. I strongly believe that the ban of alcohol would not bring about a major difference to the crime rate.

Numerous people commit crimes under the influence of alcohol. Some people are of the opinion that the ban of alcohol is the most effective method to bring down the crime rate. I strongly believe that the ban of alcohol would not bring about a major difference to the crime rate. It has been reported several times that people behave in an unacceptable manner after the consumption of booze. This includes violence, social misconduct, rash driving and so on. However, crimes are also committed by people who are not under the influence of alcohol. Therefore, putting a ban on liquor would not ensure in any way that citizens will always act in a mannerly conduct. In my opinion, the best means to handle this dilemma would be by making laws about the consumption of alcohol more stringent. For instance, there should be a limit in the consumption of alcohol for different age groups. Adding to that, people while drinking alcohol should be accompanied by someone who will remain sober. This will in turn drastically bring down the cases of road accidents as there are a lot of reported cases where people are involved in such incidences due to driving under the influence of alcohol. Another course to curb its consequences would be by educating people on the ill effects of consuming too much alcohol. This awareness would also help people understand how it alters their health. Thus, killing two birds with one stone. To sum up, alcohol isn’t the core reason for the crimes that are committed. Although it does seem to be the influence of some of them. Since banning it wouldn’t help the situation much, making sure that citizens consume it more responsibly would go a long way