People Believe That In Order To Reduce Road Accidents It Should Be Mandatory For Drivers To Take The Driving Test Every 5 Years. What are the advantages and. disadvantages of doing this?

Some people believe that the number of traffic accidents will decrease if the government obligate their residents to take the driving test every 5 years. However, there are many more others hold an opposite argument. In my opinion, I think that there are both pros and cons in executing this approach. One positive evidence to have driving tests taken every 5 years is that practice makes perfect. Most people can’t wait to pass their driving test at the moment they meet the age requirement. Take myself as an example, I took the driving test in the age of 18, however, I hadn’t been driving after that for 2 years. When I finally got the chance to drive a car on my own, I was a bit terrified. Due to the wasted time, my driving skills had become rusty, I can’t even distinguish between the accelerator and the break. In addition, if the license holders can be evaluated every 5 years, their skills can remain keen. Thus, prevent traffic accidents from happening. On the other hand, some people argues that the vital problem to such incident is the rules and regulation set by authorities for drivers, rather than the frequency of driving skill being estimated. Most accidents occur because the driver does not follow the traffic rules or doesn’t pay attention while driving. In that case, even if the test is taken regularly, it is still of no use. Moreover, it is a waste of time and money for both the government and the residents to take driving tests regularly. This requires time to prepare, and labors to invigilate testes. In conclusion, while it is undoubtable that retake the driving test every 5 years can surely sharpen one’s driving skill, a driver’s attention to the surroundings while driving and the legislations are also important elements in preventing car accidents.