People are surrounded by many kinds of advertising, which can influence their life. Is it a positive or negative trend?

In the recent decades, advertisement has become an increasingly popular means of communication, whose purpose is to inform customers about the main features as well as the function of a product. In this essay, both positive and negative impacts of this trend will be scrutinized before my personal position is stated. On the one hand, I believe negative effects arise with adverts. The main drawback is the disturbance they can cause, particularly advertising on different social media platforms such as YouTube and Facebook. Consequently, viewers will be annoyed with commercials, which undeniably interrupt the workflow. Thus, the purpose of selling the products will be backfiring and the company being responsible will have received a negative brand image. Another downside is the dishonesty in advertising. There are two criteria that a customer pays close attention when a commercial is being aired, that is quality and function. Unfortunately, quality and function are deliberately being exaggerated in order to capture the attention and persuade the viewers to buy them. Therefore, a handful of people ended up with regretful purchase so they would lose their trust on advertisements. On the other hand, advertising brings benefit to people’s life. New products are constantly being produced for the ever increasing demand from potential customers. As a result, customers are being informed by a wide range of new selections and current products are being upgraded on a daily basis. However, a company will most likely to collaborate with a variety of celebrities for their advertising campaign. This will lead to unnecessary product purchase from buyers, especially the youth community due to excessive needs. Furthermore, they have to cope with financial difficulties because of overconsumption. In conclusion, I would state that advertisements have demerits far outweighs the merits and we should consider carefully the needs and make the choices wisely.