People are spending more time at work than their private life. What are the pros and cons about it?

The impact of people spending more time at work, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. While some people believe that spending more time at work has several advantages, others completely disagree with this notion. This essay will elaborate both sides of the debate, and thus lead to a logical conclusion. At the outset, there are numerous reasons why working overtime can bring some advantages, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that it will help to increase work productivity. This is because more work input will lead to more work output. An instance illustrating this action is the fact that, in Japan, 65% of employees stay after hours, and this has boosted the country economy overall by 20% in the last decade. Furthermore, staying after hours can contribute to the advancement in one’s career path. For example, according latest survey by Harvard Uni, people who tend to work extra hours manage to get promoted within 1 to 2 years. Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that overwork can only bring along disadvantages. It is largely attributed to the fact that overtime work will increase the mental stress and pressure. When people have to work too much without proper breaks, they tend to be more angry and aggressive. For instance, in America, every year there are roughly 250 cases reported to collapse at work due to extreme pressure. Furthermore, spending too much time at work can result in loss of relationships. For instance, 29% of couples admit they file for divorce because their partners do not spend enough time with family. In conclusion, while there are strong arguments on both sides of the debate, I strongly believe that the drawbacks outweigh the advantages.