People are living longer after they retire. What are the problems? What can be done to solve these problems?

More people are able to survive long after they stop working. This causes a lot of serious problems which demand practical solutions to help the society as a whole. One of the major problems that old people face these days is loneliness and a lack of care. It is hard for children to take care of and spend time with their elderly parents due to their own fast-paced life. Since the length of retired life has increased, its makes it more difficult for children to provide sustained care over a long period where they themselves are now middle-aged. With increasing costs, it becomes hard to hire a caretaker that could take care of the elderly. A solution to this is the availability of affordable care homes for the elderly with all the necessary facilities and the companionship of other elderly people. This would keep old people engaged and allow them to form warm relationships with fellow residents. National governments, philantrophists and non-profit organizations could contribute to subsidize the cost of living at such homes. Another solution would be to sensitize the younger population to the hardships in old age by visiting retirement homes so that children and grandchildren feel encouraged to regularly visit their parents uplifting their mood. Another problem is the huge burden on the economy due to the large elderly population who don’t generate any income but require resources and care. The government pays benefits to old people to obtain basic necessities which inturn causes the government incur losses. A recent example is seen in China as a result of the one child policy to control population. There is a rising percentage of old people who need medical care against the almost stagnant youth population who are part of the working economy. One solution to combat this issue is to implement mandatory pension fund plans for workers to prepare for retirement. This would allow people to economically support themselves when they retire and reduce the impact on the economy. In conclusion, though improvements in medical science have helped people survive for longer after retirement, it causes a myriad of problems. But with proper implementation of suggested solutions, it is possible to overcome them.