People are living longe. Others think the ageing population has many advantages for business, government and for society in general.

Nowadays, the longevity of individual tend to be longer and it is a common belief that the ageing population brings benefits to companies, authorities and community in general. However, I firmly believe that while population ageing causes a number of issues for the government, but it is good for some corporations and communities. With regards to government, the influences that the ageing population has caused have some negative drawbacks. First of all, it has resulted in a shortage of labour which impacts the economic background directly. Indeed, the workforce plays a vital role in socio-economic development who pay taxes for the government, so fewer young workers mean less money from taxes. Secondly, the government have to pay a huge amount of pension retired people which accidentally creates a financial burden for authorities, especially taxpayers. On the other hand, the growth of the ageing population has created favourable opportunities for several businesses to develop. Firstly, some elderly care services such as private nursing homes and elder insurance have been commonplace in recent years. Japan, for instance, where have a high rate of elder people have seen the significant development of companies providing services for the elderly in terms of scale and profits. Furthermore, in some developed like Japan, due to the ageing population and low birth rate, it is unnecessary for the government to spend too much money on education, which means more money can be invested into other aspects of society such as the healthcare system, infrastructure and living standard’s improvement. In conclusion, although there are many positive signals for business and society, ageing population have brought government some problems in term of finance and labour. In my view, authorities should have some suitable solutions to deal with these issues