People are against the legalization of euthanasia while other people support it.

Euthanasia is the medical practice of killing patients who are suffering from an incurable disease or injury. Although some people want it to be legalised, others oppose this. Both views will be discussed in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, the main reason in favour of mercy-killing is the right of people to decide when and how to die or in simple term, self-determination. They argue that humans should be given freedom to die with pride. With the pain that they are suffering which will only cause not only the patients but also their families emotionally and financial troubles, they needed to be given other options. For example, a 14-year-old Chilean girl was suffering from cystic fibrosis, which made her life miserable plead with the government to let her go of her suffering. Legalising euthanasia would have freed her from sufferings. On the other hand, others are against mercy-killing due to involuntary and non-voluntary euthanasia. According to research, there are more cases of these kinds than voluntary euthanasia. Some patients didn't have a chance to choose to live or not. With the legalisation of mercy-killing, doctors or guardians can decide to kill the patient, which might result in abuse of authority. For instance, in the Netherlands, an old woman with dementia was forcibly put to sleep for euthanasia just because the doctor thought it's time she leaves the world. Although the old woman woke up and fought, the doctors have already made up their mind to do the procedure. These kinds of cases may increase if they legalize. From my point of view, with the advancement of science and technology, proper palliative care can be given to patients and medical researches have discovered medicines even for chronic diseases, so we should not let patients die and care for them more.