People adhere and adopt the customs of their host country. Many others still prefer to do the things the way they are in their home country.

Staying in a country so far away from home is quite a confusing experience for everyone. While some people can easily learn other people’s culture, some find it difficult to let go of the customs and beliefs they are familiar with. Individuals tend to change who they are in order to fit in. Some people take advantage of the new experience in an unfamiliar country by being adventurous and blending into the crowd. Exploring a new country can be challenging, so people find other individuals they can build friendships with. As the friendship grows, the individual learns new things and can be educated on what is considered normal and what is not. For example, some countries are really conservative when it comes to clothing and demeanor. As a foreigner, they are obliged to abide by these rules to pay respect to the host country and its people. On the other hand, sticking to what a person is familiar with is a way of bringing a piece of home with them. They tend to do what they’re accustomed to do because it is a way to cope with the new and scary experience. Additionally, this is something that is deeply embedded into a person’s brain and has become a permanent part of their identity. Without these values, a person might feel lost. To illustrate, the Philippines is filled with religious people. No matter what the country is, Filipinos still carry out religious festivities and make sure they get to practice their faith even in an unfamiliar country. In conclusion, respecting and adapting to unfamiliar beliefs is undeniably vital to ensure a harmonious relationship. While I believe fitting in the crowd is essential, carrying out tasks like how they are done at home is more important in order to preserve a person’s identity.