peak oil and greenhouse emission

The era we live in has been given many names. Millennium age, space-age, computer age or technology age. However, especially after the industrial revolution, a period that we can call the "oil age" has emerged. Petroleum is a product used directly or indirectly in the production of a wide variety of products, from giant machines to toothpaste. It is a naturally occurring hydrocarbon-based substance (Speight and Özüm, 2001). An energy source is needed to operate in the industry, service or agriculture sectors. According to Gözen (2017), fossil fuels provide a significant portion of the energy needed after the Industrial Revolution. It is reported that fossil fuels met 76% of the energy need in the early 1970s and approximately 66% in the 2010s, and is still the most important energy source today (Nuryartono & Rifai 2017; Bimanatya & Widodo 2018). Ritchie and Roser (2020) state that fossil fuels such as oil and coal provide 84% of primary energy. According to British Petroleum (BP) statistics, oil is the most widely used primary energy source accounting for approximately 31% of total consumption (BP Statistical World Energy Review 2021). Figure 1 shows the consumption of fossil fuels as a primary energy source from past to present.