Participating in volunteer work makes you become a responsible person to the community

Whether taking part in volunteer work in an active way makes individuals more accountable to the community or not remains controversial. Some people claim that it is true on the grounds that if someone who does volunteer work is a large-hearted person. To my point of view, I completely agree with that. To begin with, Key Factors can turn volunteers into engaged citizens. The Points of Light study, “Social Impact of Volunteerism, ” shows how regular volunteering weaves a social fabric that sets the stage for positive change to take place. Volunteering engages people in social issues, and it connects volunteers to people they wouldn’t have otherwise encountered. Embedded in the plight of social woes, volunteers identify gaps, build bridges, and nurture a cohesive community built on trust. Besides, volunteering makes you believe more in the importance of community. A study published in the American Education Research Journal found that those who volunteer regularly in high school are more likely to volunteer as adults. The authors surmise that this is because volunteering helps to shape adolescents’ identities; that is, as adolescents volunteer and understand the scope of social problems, “they come to see themselves as persons capable of contributing to the common good. ”Moreover, you can understand community's demands. Regular volunteers develop strong social ties with the communities they serve. Such relationships yield an in-depth understanding of problems the community faces. In her article, “Giving and Volunteering as Distinct Forms of Civic Engagement, ” Keely S. Jones writes, “Volunteering induces people to participate more frequently in public concerns, exposes them to a greater variety of shared problems, and consequently encourages greater public deliberation of a wider range of collective issues. ”Lastly, volunteers works can provide you leadership skills. Volunteering challenges people to help needy causes by utilizing civic resources. As a result, volunteers become more confident networking with government offices to address social needs. Also, research behind the Ready-Set-Go! initiative suggests that when adolescents become involved in volunteering, they start making decisions about how to solve community problems. Practicing such problem-solving skills at a young age, combined with insights gained through service, leads to confident leaders who believe they can make a difference in their communities. All things considered, it is no wonder that volunteering has been called "the essential act of citizenship" and individuals can be more responsible to the community.