Parents should be punished for obesity among children. Agree or Disagree

Recent studies on obesity reveals that this serious problem is increasing rapidly every year and the worrying aspect in the upward trend is it includes children. This essay advocates the need for punishing the parents of obese children because they failed to provide a balanced diet and doesn’t encourage physical activity in home. Firstly, father and mother are equally responsible in teaching their loved ones about the consequences of weight gain and the significance of a healthy diet to overcome the problems due to excessive fat in our body. Fast foods, fried items and non-vegetarian dishes are popular among young generations. Health consciousness, a vital trait in parenting helps to solve this health issue even if the young people prefer tasty food compared to healthy ones. For example, Indian government’s nutritional meal scheme for school students results in a sharp decline in the number of students suffering from overweight. Secondly, there is hardly any kind of physical activity for children within the house. Youngsters are glued to laptops, television, Mobile phones, and tablets. Laziness can be eliminated when parents assign some household chores to their children and make sure they exercise regularly for few hours every day. For instance, a study shows that the popularity of yoga seen a big jump in the last few years as it brings massive improvements in one’s physical and mental condition. Finally, parents should promote low fat intake and athleticism that will in turn reduces the chances of weight gain among children. In conclusion, it is the duty of each parent to raise their child in a healthy manner and strict actions including penalties should be imposed on those who failed in his / her duty.