Paper-based written examinations are no longer considered as the best method of evaluating academic ability of students

Paper-based written examinations are no longer considered as the best method of evaluating academic ability of students. To a certain extent, I agree that there are several ways to test educational achievement of students. However, I also think that ‘pen and paper’ exams are still useful way to assess students’ capacity. First of all, paper-based written exams are the most common way for teachers to assess students. With the availability of numerous types of tests, teachers can evaluate student’s ability fully. Nevertheless, this type of measuring has some drawbacks. A big number of students only learn when examinations come nearly. Many test-wise candidates can easily pass those questions that were repeated by teachers a few days before testing. A huge number of students learn by rote for exams without understanding about knowledge. That is good neither for students nor society. Besides that, many candidates have a tendency t feel anxiety and, as a result, gain poor marks despite the fact that they perform well at schools. On the other hand, there are numerous methods to test students, particularly continuous assessment. Evaluating performance of students at schools ensures fairness for students. If students show their high abilities, they should be appreciated. In addition, this method can encourage students to join lessons and give their opinions so that they could understand knowledge perfectly. In conclusion, ‘pen and paper’ examinations are not the most excellent way to test students’ educational achievement. Teachers should combine between exams and continuous assessment to evaluate students thoroughly to make sure every student is fair.