Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Various problems are continuously surfacing due to adverse effects of overpopulation of urban areas. This phenomena has brought numerous problems upon creatures in the planet. Naturally, there are solutions as well in which government and individuals can help to stand against them. I believe "Environmental Contamination" to be one of the most critical consequence of overpopulation of urban areas. Rapid increase in the inhabitants complicates management of wastes. Human feces and non-degradable wastes slowly and gradually corrupts the surrounding which results in various infections being transmitted among people. For instance, we can take one of our most populated and developed city "Kathmandu" as an example. Rapid increment in the residents has led to increase in road traffic polluting the air. Similarly, unmanaged wastes are polluting the water sources. Due to this, Kathmandu has been listed as one of the most polluted city in the world in an international survey. And a river in Kathmandu named as "Bagmati" was so polluted that it had garbage to its very bottom contributing to the infection and pungent smell coming off from it. To resolve these imminent threats, authorities should create drainage systems and put air filters as well. Drainage systems will help in proper disposal of human excreta and other wastes. Air filters can help in getting rid of unnecessary air pollution. And individuals too should be careful not to throw the wastes around everywhere. They should be self aware and help impart this awareness to others as well. Deforestation comes hand in hand with environmental pollution. Drastic increase in the population results in inadequacy of settlement areas which ultimately becomes root cause for chopping down trees to create additional housing area. For now, we can take my hometown Gorkha to explain these. There was a huge forest here before. But with time, only about 30 percent of the forest is left as of now. Nevertheless, they are still occupying and clearing more land for settlements. To prevent these activities from further continuation, government should enlist forest as a restricted zone and surround them with fences. It would fend off the citizens from exploring any further from the fear of exploiting forbidden zone. Individuals themselves should be careful not to overdo the expansion. Now, in conclusion, environmental pollution and deforestation can be depicted as severe by-products born from overpopulation. These two can be solved by execution of policies like enlisting forests as restricted zone and building advance drainage systems.