Overpopulation in urban areas have led to serious problems. Identify any two serious problems. What can the government and individuals do to tackle these problems.

Population has been rapidly increasing over the past decade and continues to be a major topic of concern in many countries. In the urban areas of these countries, increase in population have resulted in many serious concerns. This essay will discuss a few concerns and solutions related to them. Firstly, increase in population in urban areas has lead to overcrowded areas. There will be overcrowdednesss in public places like banks, hospitals, schools, restaurants and public transport like trains, metro, busses and so on. This will take away the peace and comfort wherever one may go. For instance, the Mumbai local trains and stations are packed with people, such that there is barely any place to move in the trains and it is said that, to be able to get in and out of the train is no less than a war. Secondly, overpopulation leads to increased demands of basic resources and necessities. There is increased need of food grains, clothes, shelter, jobs, education and medical aid and thus, it can sometimes be difficult to meet those requirements. For example, a number of slum areas in Mumbai are home to people with no proper houses and they take shelter by making houses from tin sheets and plastic. However, these problems can be solved if the government provides better facilities in the rural areas. The main reason for overpopulation is that, people from rural areas migrate to urban areas for better standard of living. Thus, by providing anf fulfilling those basic requirements and demands, the migration can be reduced. Along with this, certain rules and policies can be set to avoid the risk of overpopulation. For example, China has implemented the ‘one child policy’ which has helped to control the ever increasing population of China. To sum up, I believe overpopulation can lead to overcrowdedness and inability to meet the increasing requirements. However, by providing proper requirements in rural areas and implementation policies to control the increasing population can curb overpopulation to great extent.