: Does Internet need to be controlled by the government? Justify your answer.

We are in the modern era of digitalization where everything is accessible at the drop of a hat. The internet has become a necessity in the current scenario. There are hardly any households which does not have access to this modern day amenity. But with increasing advancements, there are several cases of cyber-crimes and hacking. I am convinced that internet need to be under government monitoring. The essay will give several points to justify the same. As we know, the benefits of networks but there are number of drawbacks to it. Firstly, there is a possibility that the young are exposed to malicious content which can impede their thoughts. For instance, children at a very young age can come in contact with porn videos which are extremely harmful for them. They might get addicted to the same and get easily distracted from their studies. Secondly, there are increased number of cyber-crimes these days where the pictures are being leaked over the web and leading to cases of blackmailing and abuse. The world of social media is very daunting if not taken under surveillance of the government. Lastly, the video games being played are very commonplace today. In the households, where both the parents are working professionals the child is on his own and it is very likely that he/ she might engage in fatal games such as the blue whale which is reported to cause a lot many deaths. In conclusion, the government should take charge of such a service whose consequences can be deadly if given too much liberty. There shall be norms of providing ID proofs to access the content, this is one of the many ways to protect the youth of the nation.