Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

The alarming rise in population in major cities around the world is concerning. This is primarily happening due to underutilized contraception and increased immigration, and the viable solutions to these issues could be providing access to birth control measures, educating about family planning, and regulating the immigration process in urban areas. The most prominent cause of the surplus population is reduced use of contraceptive devices which leads to an increase in the number of unintended pregnancies. Inaccessibility to these devices due to the stigma associated with their use is also a factor. For example, a recent survey by World Health Organization revealed that eight million out of 9. 5 million pregnancies were unintended pregnancies that could have been controlled by using contraception. Another significant cause of the surplus population is immigration to urban areas. People are migrating to urban regions to avail better facilities in terms of medical, education, security and employment. For example, developed regions are observing a 10% growth in population every 2 years due to immigration. A possible solution to mitigate this would be spreading awareness and educating both sexes about different contraceptive measures as well as family planning. Along with this, providing universal access to birth control measures would also be effective in managing overpopulation. For instance, birth control statistics of the USA reveal that a 15% decline in population growth has been observed due to the allowance of non-physician access to contraceptives. Another significant solution could be formulating strict immigration policies to prevent overcrowding. This would limit the number of migrants into cities and slow population growth. For instance. The USA has observed a sharp decline of 30% due to changes in their migration policies. In conclusion, a surge in urban city population can be primarily attributed to poor use and obliviousness of contraceptives as well as a surge in migrants to these centers. However, these could be effectively controlled by educating people about family planning using contraception and by formulating strict immigration policies.