Overfishing has resulted in a dramatic drop in the quantity of fish in our oceans over the last century and is a threat to the well-being of people around the world. Identify possible reasons for this problem suggest measures that could be taken to solve it.

Overfishing is an occurrence that has led, through the last hundred of years, to a sensible reduction of fish’s species all over the seas and moreover it has become a health issue. There are many possible reasons causing this problem but it is clear we should find a solution. I strongly believe the main point about economy. By this I mean that today we have a great number of people who work in order to maintain the huge chain made of big boats, infrastructure, fish markets. It is acceptable to argue that there is the law of supply and demand, so they simply satisfy a need, but I believe it is strongly a matter of money, if they started to fish less, prices would grow, and maybe some people cannot afford it anymore, and the earnes would go down. Anyway a solution is required, because overfishing mines the biological equilibrium between species in the seas, hence this involving the human being, too. I would suggest two kinds of approach. The first one is to strictly rule the quantity of fish that every nation can fish. This should provide a tax for everyone who does not respect the laws, and could allow a period of not fishing, in which fish can reproduce. Secondly I believe that being conscious of the issue is the first step to solve it, then people should be informed about that and maybe should start to act consequently, maybe eating less fish. Concluding I really guess that addressing the issue is an urgent question, involving all the parts and finding solutions who can take into consideration the reasons of both sides: who want to make money or simply earn a wage for their sustenance; and the needs of a nature that is our home and require great respect and care. But in order to do that, our behaviour is pivotal.