Over the past two centuries there has been extensive economic growth in many parts of the world.

Over the past two centuries there has been extensive economic growth in many parts of the world. The industrial and communications revolutions have massively increased productivity and the affordability of goods. This has helped to improve basic living conditions but has also reduced leisure time and increased pollution. For some countries, economic growth has raised the general standard of living. It has created more business and work, thus helping to reduce unemployment by providing people with more job or career opportunities. Economic development has also resulted in more availability of consumer goods and services. Not only are customers exposed to a greater variety of products, but also many of them are now able to buy items that were once unaffordable. For example, fifty years ago many people were unable to afford adequate housing, education, or transport, yet today most households can do so. However, for some people, the pursuit of economic development has also taken away much of their leisure time. The desire to make money, and faster communication, has made businesses more competitive and accelerated the speed at which they operate. This has created a faster pace of life but more sedentary work conditions and more stress, leaving people with less time for leisure activities and personal relationships. Furthermore, economic development has implications for society as a whole. Although economic growth accelerates the expansion of towns and cities, resulting in the development of more factories and other industries, it also results in greater levels of pollution. An increasing urban population also means that more vehicles are being used for transportation, which creates further pollution. In conclusion, although economic growth can promote positive social changes, these changes are not always entirely beneficial to individuals or to society, and will require great effort to avoid more deleterious effects on health and well-being.