In today's world economic development is a major concern for every country and government.

In today's world economic development is a major concern for every country and government. The most common view is that the economic growth is the most desirable thing which will benefit both individuals and society as a whole, despite possible drawbacks. In this essay I will argue that the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, economic growth helps to create more exports than imports. First of all, a positive effect is when we have more exports we need to fill more jobs. This in turn creates more employment opportunities for the general public. Moreover, it means we can fill the gap between the rich and the poor because the poor will also have means to earn income and improve their standard of living. Secondly, increased export also means that a country can accumulate more wealth and strength. However, fast economic growth may also create environmental problems, because if we produce more and more products we have to take more and more resources from our nature. Due to this, trees are cut down to make more space for factories and industrial centres. For this reason, many countries are now searching ways to reduce the damage to the environment as the same time. To sum up, the advantages of economic development clearly outweigh the disadvantages. The most important benefit is that economic growth creates more jobs and opportunities to set all humans on the same level. Furthermore, economic development brings to everyone in the world a higher standard of living.