Our society is gradually becoming a cashless society. Do you think that the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

There is often much debate around the fact that paying by credit card dominates our society gradually. While this trend may bring about some drawbacks, I would argue that they are eclipsed by the merits. It is said that this development has some noteworthy positive impacts. People speculate this might be due to the fact that throughout the progress of technology, numerous top-notch devices are devised for human demand, as a result, credit cards or some online paying apps are getting eminent. The primary reason is that they are more portable and faster than paying by cash. While utilizing cash people have to calculate and consider each dollar, it just takes them 5 to 10 seconds to pay the bill by credit card. Furthermore, during the covid-19 pandemic, the more people stay away from each other, the more safety they could have. According to a worldwide newspaper, which figured out that at this time, there was a remarkable increase in using cashless devices from 20% in 2020 to 60% in 2021. However, some detrimental impacts of this trend still do exist. First and foremost, some online paying apps are too sophisticated, various people could not grasp it and find it is difficult to use, especially the elderly, who are used to use the conventional paying way. In addition, not everyone has a bank account, and a cashless society would hurt many people. There are also a lot of people who could not afford to buy a smartphone. Unless a special effort is made to help these individuals, the economic gap could become wider in the coming years. In a nutshell, after weighing up the pros and cons of this development, from my perspective, a cashless society is still woefully optimal for everybody. Although there are some negative effects, I believe that the merits are overshadowed by them.