Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

Some people hold an opinion that a person's characteristic features are prefixed by his DNA therefore cannot be altered after his or her birth. I completely disagree with this view point as I believe that an individual is product of their experiences and circumstances rather than their genetic makeup. Firstly, there is nothing in this world that is constant leave alone ones personality. As people grow up and are exposed to various challenges in different stages of life their character evolves. Even though genetic makeup have impact on ones persona to some extent it is not pertinent that they imbibe it permanently. Numerous studies have claimed that with enough motivation and guidance people are found to overcome many behavioral problems that they might have inherited from their creators. For instance a man imbibed his fathers short temper controlled and reduced it after recognizing its detrimental effects in his life through therapy. Secondly, the role of parenting cannot be ignored in the formation of any individuals personality. With proper moral conditioning and education children are found to develop excellent self esteem and evolve into great personality. For example recently an IAS topper revealed in a interview that he is adopted and his birth parents are criminals and it is only because of the values and importance of integrity inculcated by his adopted parents helped him to achieve this success. To conclude genetics influence human behavior and character traits to some extent but claiming this cannot be altered is not true except in case of genetic disorders which can be treated if not eliminated completely.