As people live longer and longer, the idea of cloning human beingss in order to provide spare parts is becoming a reality. The idea horrifies most people, yet it is no longer mere science fiction.

The cloning of animals has been occuring for a number of years now, and this has now opened up the possibility of cloning humans too. Although there are clear benefits to humankind of cloning to provide spare body parts, I believe it raises a number of worrying ethical issues. Due to breakthroughs in medical science and improved diets, people are living much more than in the past. This, though, has brought with it problems. As people age, their organs can fail so they need replacing. If humans were cloned, their organs could then be used to replace those of sick people. It's currently the case that there are often not enough organ donors around to fulfil this need, so cloning humans would overcome the issue as there would then be a ready supply. However, for good reasond, many people view this as a worrying development. Firstly, there are religious arguments against it. It would involve creating another human and then eventuallykilling it in order to use its organs, which it could be argued is murder. This is obviously a sin surely they would be humans just like the rest of us. Furthermore, if we have the ability to clone humans, it has to be questioned where this cloning will end. Is it then acceptable for people to start cloning relatives or family members who have died? To conclude, i do not agree with this procedure due to the ethical issues and dilemmas it would create. Cloning animals has been a positive development, but this is where it should end.