Our Galaxy, The Milky Way

Have you ever looked up at the night sky and noticed a band of stars that have a whitish “cloud” around them? If you have, you were looking at a portion of our own galaxy, the Milky Way. It is called “milky” because of this whitish cloud that the stars live in. This cloud is actually light that the stars give off. People who lived many centuries ago didn’t know what they were seeing when they looked at the Milky Way in the sky. Some thought it was a bridge, some thought it was a river, and others thought it was a pathway for spirits of the dead. Today, the Milky Way is much less mysterious. We know more about our galaxy now than ever before. Scientists and astronomers continue to study it and learn more about it. What is a galaxy? It is a system of millions to hundreds of billions of stars. Our galaxy, the Milky Way, contains about one trillion, or 1, 000, 000, 000, 000, stars. It is hard to imagine a “trillion” stars, isn’t it? There are hundreds of billions of galaxies in the universe. How does a galaxy relate to the universe? A galaxy is part of the universe. The universe includes all galaxies. When you look at the Milky Way at night, the stars you can see are the brightest stars. Some people use a telescope to see more stars, or the stars that are not as bright. It is easiest to see the Milky Way if you live in the country. That is because the light from cities can make it harder to see the light from the stars in a dark sky. The Milky Way has a pancake shape, and the Earth is located somewhere near the center of this “pancake”. When you look at the Milky Way at night, you are seeing just a portion of the galaxy. This portion appears in a different place in the sky depending on the time of year. It is higher in the sky during the summer and winter. But during the spring and fall, it is lower, and closer to the horizon.