In some countries, young people at the age of 18 are considered adults and can drive a car, vote and get married, while other countries don't allow it. What age do you think is the best to be considered an adult? Give reasons and examples.

It is often argued by some nations that by the time a person reaches the age of 18, he/she can function as a responsible adult, while others disagree with this statement by saying that this age bar should be increased. Personally, I believe that an individual is, in fact, fully mature and has the ability to make sensible life-decisions by the age of 18. Firstly, it has been proven that 18 is a reasonable age yardstick. To be more specific, many psychologists, through their extensive research, have concluded that a person can fully function as a responsible citizen by the time he/she reaches the age of 18. For example, many countries such as India and Sri Lanka allow a person to have alcoholic beverages at the age of 18. It has been proven that any person below this age limit had not acted responsibly when the same type of drink was consumed. That is why I firmly stand on the side that 18 is a reasonable age to allow a person to act like an adult. Secondly, in many cultures, 18 is when a person moves out to live on their own. In other words, the average person starts to attend college at the age of 18, and this is coupled with moving out of their parents to live independently. For example, I moved all alone to the US from Sri Lanka when I was 18, and I would proudly say that I was mature enough at that time to differentiate between what is good and what is bad. I drove responsibly, studied well, and got good grades in all my freshman year classes, and drank alcoholic drinks responsibly. This is why I believe that 18 is a very good age for someone to start living as an adult. In conclusion, I strongly believe that anyone at or above 18 years old is fit to function as an adult since it has been proven by research that 18 is a good yardstick. In addition, many young adults make their way to college and start living independently when they reach 18.